Bonn – the City

 

anchor link

From here you can directly go to the following sections:
Language and service | content section | Main navigation | Help | Search | Print page, recommend page | special webpage functions

Help


The following key combinations brings you to the main categories:

Get more service using these hotkeys:

Current date

January 21, 2018



Main navigation



content section

 

United Nations University
Institute for Environment and Human Security
(UNU-EHS)


 

UNU-EHS, founded in December 2003, deals with risk and vulnerability aspects of human security and the consequences of complex natural hazards and global change. UNU-EHS assumes that human security can be increased through education and appropriate adaptation measures. The research of UNU-EHS therefore aims at improving the understanding of cause-effect relationships and finding ways to reduce vulnerability for sustainable development.

The Institute aims at scientific excellence in two broad thematic areas:

  • Vulnerability assessment, resilience analysis, risk management and adaptation strategies within linked human-environment systems 
  • Internal displacement and transboundary migration due to environmental push-factors.

The following major drivers affecting human security are especially dealt with by UNU-EHS scientists: Land degradation, desertification, natural disasters, human-induced environmental change, climate change and climate variability, as well as water scarcity and pollution.

Beyond its research mandate, UNU-EHS is also engaged in education. A joint master’s degree programme ("The Geography of Environmental Risks and Human Security”) together with the University of Bonn is currently being developed. The launch of the MSc programme is planned for 2013. The degree will be awarded by both the University of Bonn and UNU-EHS. Furthermore, a block course for PhD and Master students focusing on vulnerability and resilience in disaster risk reduction is part of the educational offer of UNU-EHS. It takes place once a year in Bonn in cooperation with the University of Bonn, and once a year at the Disaster Management Training and Education Center for Africa of the University of the Free State (UFS-DiMTEC) in Bloemfontein, South Africa.

About one third of the UNU-EHS budget is funded by the Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and the Ministry for Innovation, Science and Research of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia (MIWF). Projectspecific third-party funds form the other two thirds of the budget. In most cases, UNU-EHS conducts projects with a variety of partners.

(Source: Common Information Unit of the UN Organizations in Bonn)


UN Campus
Platz der Vereinten Nationen 1
53113 Bonn

Tel: +49 228 - 81 50 21 9

E-Mail: info@ehs.unu.edu
e-mail address: mailto:info@ehs.unu.edu

Internet: www.ehs.unu.edu
URL: http://www.ehs.unu.edu

Last update: July 31, 2013




 


 

© 2003 - 2018 Stadt Bonn  Imprint

Print page, recommend page



back to anchor link

Bonn - Die Stadt

 

Sprungnavigation

Von hier aus können Sie direkt zu folgenden Bereichen springen:
Sprache und Service | Inhaltsbereich | Hauptnavigation | Hilfe | Suche | Seite drucken, Seite weiterempfehlen | spezielle Seitenfunktionen

Hilfe


Über folgende Tastenkominationen gelangen Sie zu den Hauptrubriken:

Zusätzlichen Service erhalten Sie über diese Tastenkombinationen:

Aktuelles Datum

30. Juni 2016



Hauptnavigation



Inhaltsbereich

 

Universität der Vereinten Nationen
Institut für Umwelt und menschliche Sicherheit (UNU-EHS)


 

United Nations University Institute for Environment and Human Security -UNU-EHS

UNU-EHS, gegründet 2003, befasst sich mit Risiko- und Verwundbarkeitsaspekten menschlicher Sicherheit und den Konsequenzen komplexer Naturgefahren und des globalen Wandels. UNU-EHS geht davon aus, dass durch Aufklärung, Anpassung und angemessene Maßnahmen die menschliche Sicherheit erhöht werden kann. Die Forschung von UNU-EHS soll daher das Verständnis von Ursache-Wirkung-Beziehungen verbessern, um Wege zur Verwundbarkeitsreduktion für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung zu finden.

Das Institut konzentriert sich auf angewandte Forschung mit folgenden Schwerpunkten:

  • Verwundbarkeitsforschung, Resilienzanalyse, Risikomanagement und Anpassungsstrategien, die in einem gekoppelten Mensch-Umwelt-System betrachtet werden
  • Forschung in Bezug auf interne, aber auch grenzüberschreitende Migration, die durch Umweltveränderungen sowie Klimawandel verursacht werden.
    Folgende Einflussfaktoren erhalten besondere Aufmerksamkeit von UNU-EHS Wissenschaftlern: Landdegradierung, Wüstenbildung, Naturkatastrophen, von Menschen verursachte Umweltveränderungen, Klimawandel, und -schwankungen sowie Wasserknappheit und -verschmutzung.

Über das Forschungsmandat hinaus hat sich UNU-EHS auch der Lehre verschrieben. Ein gemeinsamer Master-Studiengang ("The Geography of Environmental Risks and Human Security") mit der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn ist derzeit im Aufbau begriffen; der Start ist für 2013 geplant. Der Abschluss wird gemeinsam von der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn und UNU-EHS verliehen werden. Des Weiteren hat sich ein Blockkurs für Doktoranden und Masterstudenten mit dem Schwerpunkt Vulnerabilitätsforschung und Katastrophenvorsorge fest im UNU-EHS Jahresprogramm etabliert. Er findet je einemal jährlich in Bonn in Kooperation mit der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn sowie am "University of the Free State Disaster Management Training and Education Centre for Africa" (DiMTEC) in Bloemfontein, Südafrika statt.

UNU-EHS wird etwa zu einem Drittel vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und vom Ministerium für Innovation, Wissenschaft und Forschung (MIWF) des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen finanziert. Zwei Drittel des Budgets bestehen aus projektgebundenen Drittmitteln. UNU-EHS führt die Projekte größtenteils mit einer Vielzahl von Partnern durch.

(Quelle: Gemeinsame Informationsstelle der UN-Organisationen in Bonn)

UN Campus
Platz der Vereinten Nationen 1
53113 Bonn

Telefon: 0228 - 81 50 21 9

E-Mail: info@ehs.unu.edu
E-Mail-Adresse: mailto:info@ehs.unu.edu

Internet: www.ehs.unu.edu
URL: http://www.ehs.unu.edu

Letzte Aktualisierung: 31. Juli 2013




 


 

© 2003 - 2016 Stadt Bonn  Impressum

Seite drucken, Seite weiterempfehlen



zurück zur Sprungnavigation