Bonn – the City

 

anchor link

From here you can directly go to the following sections:
Language and service | content section | Main navigation | Help | Search | Print page, recommend page | special webpage functions

Help


The following key combinations brings you to the main categories:

Get more service using these hotkeys:

Current date

November 24, 2017



Main navigation



content section

 

Demonstration of closeness at the summit of cities and regions


 

More than 1,000 participants from 80 nations, including approximately 330 mayors and other leading representatives at local and regional level, arrived in Bonn on Sunday, 12 November 2017 for the summit of cities and regions. It was held at the invitation of the city of Bonn, the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) and the international city network called Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI) for the first time as part of the UN Climate Conference, which will continue until 17 November in the Federal city. The increasing importance of municipalities and regions in the battle against climate change and climate adjustment was the focus of the discussions.

This summit was "A demonstration of closeness at local and regional level", according to Bonn’s mayor Ashok Sridharan, who together with the NRW Minister for the Economy, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy, Andreas Pinkwart, as well as representatives of ICLEI and the Federal ministries involved, reported at press conference given by the city in Bonn on the meeting. He seemed delighted that so many decision-makers at sub-national level had accepted the invitation to the summit. Mayor Sridharan continued: "I am particularly pleased that this includes so many mayors, governors and other representatives from the USA, who have therefore demonstrated that they stand behind the resolutions adopted by the Paris Convention on Climate Change and want to implement it”.

The Economics Minister of NRW, Andreas Pinkwart emphasised: "In the battle against climate change it is now about becoming effective and providing specific examples. The municipalities play a major role in this.” He pointed out that the ambitious targets up to 2050 represented a great challenge for NRW and Germany, for which step-by-step innovations would not be sufficient, and breakthrough innovations would be necessary. "We want to meet this challenge through innovation and research and NRW and Germany could be the pioneers in this endeavour."

Hans-Joachim Fuchtel, Parliamentary State Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), also emphasised the role of the municipalities and regions and the significance of the Bonn summit: "The global world must be bound together at its roots and that means the municipalities." Cities would not be able to overcome the consequences of climate change alone, but without the cities it would not be possible to overcome them at all. Fuchtel pointed to a BMZ programme supporting collaboration between the municipalities from Germany with cities in developing countries. During the last three years 647 municipal partnerships had been created, which helped to pass on experience and know-how.

For Wolfgang Teubner, Regional Director for Europe of the international city network called Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI) the increasing awareness of the importance of cities and regions in the activities against climate change is the result of 20 years of intensive work and negotiations. "However this turning point in awareness is at the same time the starting point for implementing climate protection measures in cities and regions now." The process must be supported by political, regulatory and economic structures to make this possible.

Bonn, a wonderful host at the Climate Conference

In almost all the statements issued it was mentioned that the event in Bonn had been accepted very positively by the delegates from all over the world. NRW Economics Minister Pinkwart stated: "Bonn is presenting itself in an excellent light; the delegates feel very much at home here and have been made to feel very welcome. This ensures that there is a very pleasant atmosphere during the discussions." Jochen Flasbarth, Parliamentary State Secretary in the Federal Ministry for Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety talked about a "superb calling card provided by Bonn and Germany with this conference".

Mayor Ashok Sridharan thanked the citizens of Bonn for their hospitality and flexibility: "Many delegates reported to me that they were offered help everywhere in the city spontaneously." Flexible working hours at many employers in Bonn had also made a decisive contribution to ensuring that no major disruptions on the road had occurred so far.

On the eve of the summit of cities and regions the city of Bonn had invited the conference members to a reception at the Bundeskunsthalle. Lord Mayer Ashok Sridharan welcomed amongst others the actor Arnold Schwarzenegger, former Governor of California, as well as the former US Vice President and Nobel Peace Prize laureate Al Gore.

Examples of climate trailblazers from Germany

Germany plays a trailblazing role in climate protection. Cities, municipalities, districts and Federal States in Germany have set a high standard with their own climate strategies: Essen was transformed from a coal city into Europe‘s green capital city. Freiburg is on the way towards sustainable mobility and renewable energy and Bonn is focussing on the involvement of everyone - already starting at primary school where children are trained as "climate ambassadors”.

North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW) is also one of the most efficient energy regions from a global perspective. It has long been a tradition here to find and implement solutions for energy efficiency and climate protection. In addition to the large number of different COP23 activities, the Federal State together with the Federal Ministry for the Environment is therefore also inviting the accredited delegates and journalists at the World Climate Conference to a wide range of excursions to discover more about the innovative energy state of NRW.

All these examples show that without the cities and regions it would not be possible to implement the climate protection targets

ICLEI summit: Well-known speakers

Over 500 representatives of cities, regions and provinces from all over the world have already promised to attend the summit of cities and regions. The list of speakers includes among others:

  • The Governor of California Edmund "Jerry" Brown
  • and his predecessor Arnold Schwarzenegger,
  • UNFCCC Executive Secretary Patricia Espinosa
  • and her predecessor Christiana Figueres.
  • Park Won-Soon, the Mayor of Seoul und Chairman of ICLEI is coming from Korea.
  • Mayor Louis Revilla will travel from Bonn´s partner city of La Paz.

In addition to the hosts, the following are attending from Germany:

  • NRW-Minister President Armin Laschet
  • and Bonn´s Mayor Ashok Sridharan
  • also the Minister President of Baden-Württemberg, Winfried Kretschmann
  • and the mayors of Essen and Freiburg, Thomas Kufen and Dieter Salomon, will also be there.

New initiatives and climate collaboration

The cities and regions have thought of something special as a gift for the visitors at the 23rd World Climate Conference - a package of new initiatives around the globe. Including for example a worldwide partnership with small island states - the ICLEI-GLISPA-Initiative. GLISPA stands for Global Island Partnership. Under the umbrella of this initiative cities from Fiji will for example work with other ICLEI member states.

The Climate Conference in Bonn

The 23rd World Climate Conference (COP 23) of the United Nations is taking place in Bonn from 6 until 17 November 2017. It is being hosted by the Climate Secretariat of the United Nations which is based here. The Presidency is held by Fiji. The implementation of the Paris Convention on Climate Change concluded in 2015 and its future rules will form the focus of the negotiations. A special feature of this will be the involvement of cities and regions in the structure and implementation of national climate strategies.

www.iclei.org
URL: http://www.iclei.org/

Last update: November 14, 2017




 


 

© 2003 - 2017 Stadt Bonn  Imprint

Print page, recommend page



back to anchor link

Bonn - Die Stadt

 

Sprungnavigation

Von hier aus können Sie direkt zu folgenden Bereichen springen:
Sprache und Service | Inhaltsbereich | Hauptnavigation | Hilfe | Suche | Seite drucken, Seite weiterempfehlen | spezielle Seitenfunktionen

Hilfe


Über folgende Tastenkominationen gelangen Sie zu den Hauptrubriken:

Zusätzlichen Service erhalten Sie über diese Tastenkombinationen:

Aktuelles Datum

18. November 2017



Hauptnavigation



Inhaltsbereich

 

Gipfel der Städte und Regionen demonstriert Geschlossenheit


 

Mehr als 1000 Teilnehmer aus 80 Nationen, darunter rund 330 Bürgermeister und andere Spitzenvertreter der lokalen und regionalen Ebene, sind am Sonntag, 12. November 2017, in Bonn zum Gipfel der Städte und Regionen zusammengekommen. Er fand auf Einladung der Stadt Bonn, des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und des internationalen Städtenetzwerkes für Nachhaltigkeit, ICLEI, zum ersten Mal als Teil der UN-Klimakonferenz statt, die noch bis zum 17. November in der Bundesstadt tagt. Im Zentrum der Beratungen stand die wachsende Bedeutung von Kommunen und Regionen im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel und bei der Klimaanpassung.

"Eine Demonstration der Geschlossenheit auf lokaler und regionaler Ebene", sei dieser Gipfel, sagte Bonns Oberbürgermeister Ashok Sridharan, der zusammen mit dem NRW-Minister für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie, Andreas Pinkwart, sowie Vertretern von ICLEI und den beteiligten Bundesministerien bei einer Pressekonferenz der Stadt in der Bonn Zone von dem Treffen berichtete. Er zeigte sich erfreut, dass so viele Entscheidungsträger der subnationalen Ebenen der Einladung zum Gipfel gefolgt wären, sagte der OB. "Ganz besonders freut mich, dass darunter so viele Bürgermeister, Gouverneure und weitere Vertreter aus den USA waren, die damit demonstriert haben, dass sie hinter den Beschlüssen des Klimaabkommens von Paris stehen und es umsetzen wollen", so Sridharan weiter.

NRW-Wirtschaftsminister Andreas Pinkwart betonte: "Im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel geht es nun darum, wirksam zu werden und konkrete Beispiele zu liefern. Dabei spielen Kommunen eine wesentliche Rolle." Er verwies darauf, dass die ehrgeizigen Ziele bis 2050 eine große Herausforderung für NRW und Deutschland seien, bei der schrittweise Innovationen nicht ausreichten, sondern Sprunginnovationen nötig seien. "Dieser Herausforderung wollen wir durch Innovation und Forschung begegnen, und dabei können NRW und Deutschland Vorreiter sein."

Auch Hans-Joachim Fuchtel, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär im Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ), betonte die Rolle der Kommunen und Regionen und die Bedeutung des Bonner Gipfels: "Die globale Welt muss an ihren Wurzeln zusammengebunden werden, und das sind die Kommunen." Dabei könnten Städte die Folgen des Klimawandels nicht alleine bewältigen, aber ohne die Städte wären sie gar nicht zu bewältigen. Fuchtel verwies auf ein Programm des BMZ, mit dem es die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Kommunen aus Deutschland mit Städten in Entwicklungsländern unterstützt. In den vergangenen drei Jahren seien dabei 647 kommunale Partnerschaften entstanden, die dazu beitrügen, dass Erfahrungen und Know-how weitergegen werden.

Für Wolfgang Teubner, Regionaldirektor für Europa des internationalen Städtenetzwerks für Nachhaltigkeit, ICLEI, ist die gewachsene Anerkennung der Bedeutung von Städten und Regionen bei den Aktivitäten gegen den Klimawandel das Resultat von 20 Jahren intensiver Arbeit und Verhandlungen. "Dieser Wendepunkt bei der Anerkennung ist aber zugleich Startpunkt dafür, Maßnahmen für den Klimaschutz nun in den Städten und Regionen umzusetzen." Um dies zu ermöglichen, müsse der Prozess durch politische, regulatorische und ökonomische Gestaltung unterstützt werden.

Bonn als hervorragender Gastgeber der Klimakonferenz

In fast allen Statements klang an, dass die Veranstaltung in Bonn von den Delegierten aus aller Welt sehr positiv angenommen werde. NRW-Wirtschaftsminister Pinkwart sagte: "Bonn präsentiert sich ganz hervorragend, die Delegierten fühlen sich hier wohl und gut aufgenommen. Das sorgt für eine sehr angenehme Gesprächsatmosphäre." Jochen Flasbarth, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär im Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit, sprach von einer "großartigen Visitenkarte, die Bonn und Deutschland mit dieser Konferenz abgeben".

Oberbürgermeister Ashok Sridharan bedankte sich bei den Bonnerinnen und Bonnern für ihre Gastfreundschaft und Flexibiltät: "Viele Delegierte berichten mir, dass sie überall in der Stadt ungefragt Hilfe angeboten bekommen." Die flexiblen Arbeitszeiten bei vielen Arbeitgebern in Bonn hätten zudem maßgeblich dazu beigetragen, dass es bislang auf den Straßen zu keinen nennenswerten Störungen gekommen sei.

Am Vorabend des Gipfels der Städte und Regionen hatte die Bundesstadt Bonn am Samstagabend, 11. November 2017, die Konferenzteilnehmer zu einem Empfang in der Bundeskunsthalle eingeladen. Oberbürgermeister Ashok Sridharan begrüßte unter anderem den Schauspieler Arnold Schwarzenegger, früherer Gouverneur von Kalifornien, der beim Bürgermeistergipfel ein Schlusswort sprechen wird, sowie den früheren US-amerikanischen Vize-Präsidenten und Friedensnobelpreisträger Al Gore.

Beispiele von Klimavorreitern aus Deutschland

Deutschland hat eine Vorreiterrolle im Klimaschutz eingenommen. Städte, Gemeinden, Kreise und Bundesländer in Deutschland haben mit ihren eigenen Klimastrategien die Messlatte hoch gehängt: Essen wurde von der Kohlestadt zu Europas Grüner Hauptstadt. Freiburg ist auf dem Weg zu nachhaltiger Mobilität und erneuerbarer Energie und Bonn setzt auf die Mitwirkung aller - beginnend schon in der Grundschule, wo Kinder zu "Klimabotschaftern" ausgebildet werden.

Nordrhein-Westfalen ist auch global gesehen eine der leistungsfähigsten Energieregionen. Hier ist es längst Tradition, Lösungen für Energieeffizienz und Klimaschutz zu erdenken und umzusetzen. Neben vielen verschiedenen COP23-Aktivitäten lädt das Land daher unter anderem gemeinsam mit dem Bundesumweltministerium mit einem vielfältigen Exkursionsprogramm für die akkreditierten Delegierten und Journalisten der Weltklimakonferenz dazu ein, das innovative Energieland NRW kennenzulernen.

Alle diese Beispiele zeigen: Ohne die Städte und Regionen lassen sich die Klimaschutzziele nicht umsetzen.

Neue Initiativen und Klimakooperationen

Als Gastgeschenk für die 23. Weltklimakonferenz haben die Städte und Regionen sich etwas Besonderes einfallen lassen - ein Paket neuer Initiativen rund um den Globus. Darunter ist zum Beispiel eine weltweite Partnerschaft mit kleinen Inselstaaten - die ICLEI-GLISPA-Initiative. GLISPA steht für Global Island Partnership. Unter dem Dach dieser Initiative werden Städte zum Beispiel aus Fidschi mit anderen ICLEI-Mitgliedsstädten zusammenarbeiten.

Die Klimakonferenz in Bonn

Vom 6. bis 17. November 2017 findet die 23. Weltklimakonferenz (COP 23) der Vereinten Nationen in Bonn statt. Gastgeber ist das hier beheimatete Klimasekretariat der Vereinten Nationen. Die Präsidentschaft hat Fidschi inne. Im Mittelpunkt der Verhandlungen steht die Umsetzung des 2015 geschlossenen Pariser Klimaabkommens und ihr künftiges Regelwerk. Ein besonderes Augenmerk richtet sich dabei auf die Einbeziehung von Städten und Regionen in die Gestaltung und Umsetzung nationaler Klimastrategien.

Zur Homepage von ICLEI
URL: http://www.iclei.org

Letzte Aktualisierung: 14. November 2017




 


 

© 2003 - 2017 Stadt Bonn  Impressum

Seite drucken, Seite weiterempfehlen



zurück zur Sprungnavigation